Arnold Walker AG

Mountain cheese from the large Aletsch-glacier? What seems incompatible at first – cheese and glacier – is very much complementary in Bitsch in the Oberwallis: lush meadows with a strong flora thrive in the UNESCO World Heritage Jungfrau Aletsch, on which cows especially like to graze. Their milk then carries an unmistakable, spicy aroma, which Walker AG in Bitsch use for the production of their broad and high-quality range of Aletsch-cheeses. The Aletsch Grand Cru for example won gold at the Swiss Cheese Awards 2008.

Walker AG (since 1956) – run by the second generation, Alexander Walker – has managed in the past few years to combine the Valais’ frontier spirit with values that connect the region and its people: respect towards the endogenous and the forethought concerning the guests, customers and consumers.

In the biggest and most modern private Valais cheese-factory, the cheese masters passionately process daily the raw regional milk which is delivered daily. The tradition-bound cheese masters continuously create new specialities, for example our newest Bleu du Valais, a blue mold cheese – a novelty in Valais, which continues the tradition of innovation.

Around half of Walker AG’s 4.5 million liters of milk each year is used for Raclette cheese, the rest for mountain and house cheeses as well as specialities such as yoghurt. Over 50 regional farms receive their basis of existence this way. Not only them: Over 100 employees appreciate the familiar, prosperous working climate of one of the biggest private employers of the region – and, in their free time, the proximity of the large Aletsch-glacer. They live and work where others go on holiday. Not least because of this, a Walker AG Aletsch cheese tastes like a piece of home.

Furkastrasse, CH-3982 Bitsch
Telefon: +41 (0)27 928 62 62, Telefax: +41 (0)27 928 62 63

info@walker-ag.ch
www.walker-ag.ch

Arnold Walker AG

Bergkäse vom Grossen Aletschgletscher? Was sich auf den ersten Blick kaum zusammenfügt – Käse und Gletscher – ergänzt sich in Bitsch im Oberwallis sehr wohl: Im UNESCO Welterbe Jungfrau Aletsch gedeihen saftige Alpwiesen mit kräftiger Flora, auf denen die Kühe besonders gerne weiden. Ihre Milch trägt denn auch ein unverkennbares, würziges Aroma, das die Walker AG in Bitsch zur Herstellung ihrer breiten und qualitativ hoch stehenden Aletsch-Käse-Sorten verwendet. Der Aletsch Grand Cru etwa erntete Gold am Swiss Cheese Award 2008.

Die von Alexander Walker in zweiter Generation geführte Walker AG (seit 1956) hat es in den letzten Jahren geschafft, Walliser Pioniergeist mit Werten zu verknüpfen, welche die Region und deren Menschen verbinden: Der Respekt vor dem Vorhandenen und das Vorausdenken im Sinne der Gäste, Kunden und Konsumenten.

In der grössten und mordernsten privaten Walliser Käserei legen die Käsemeister viel Hand an die täglich frisch angelieferte Rohmilch aus der Region. Die traditionsverbundenen Käsemeister kreieren laufend neue Spezialitäten. Jüngstes Beispiel ist der Bleu du Valais, ein Blauschimmelkäse, – eine Novität im Wallis, welche die Tradition der Innovation fortführt.

Rund die Hälfte von jährlich 4,5 Mio. Litern Milch verarbeitet die Walker AG zu Raclettekäse, den Rest zu Berg- und Hauskäse sowie Spezialitäten wie Joghurt. Über 50 Bauernbetriebe der Region erhalten so eine Lebensgrundlage. Nicht nur sie: Über 100 Mitarbeitende schätzen das familiäre, prosperierende Arbeitsklima bei einem der grössten privaten Arbeitgeber der Region – und in ihrer Freizeit die Nähe zum Grossen Aletschgletscher. Sie leben und arbeiten, wo andere sich Ferien gönnen. Nicht zuletzt deshalb schmeckt ein Aletsch-Käse der Walker AG wie ein Stück Heimat.

Furkastrasse, CH-3982 Bitsch
Telefon: +41 (0)27 928 62 62, Telefax: +41 (0)27 928 62 63

info@walker-ag.ch
www.walker-ag.ch